Short answer: about 25% of each fare in the markets we verified. The Netherlands exceeds 30% with VAT, and Germany publishes no number. Everything below is sourced and linked.
Uber calls its cut a "service fee". It comes off the fare before your payout. On a busy week it can be your biggest cost, bigger than fuel.
Uber's cut by country
| Market | Uber's cut | Source |
|---|---|---|
| United States | about 25% (stated target, variable) | Uber Help |
| United Kingdom | 25% | Industrial Relations Journal; Uber UK |
| Netherlands | 25% + 21% VAT on the fee = over 30% | FNV white paper (2020) |
| Italy | 25% | Corriere della Sera (2024) |
| Spain | 25% reported, not officially confirmed | TaxiGee (2026) |
| Germany | not publicly disclosed, fleet-operator model | Uber Germany |
In the US, Uber's variable service fee aims "as close to 25% as possible" (Uber Help). In the UK, the 25% fee survived the 2021 Supreme Court worker ruling; benefits changed, not the fee (Uber UK, academic research, 2024 London study).
The Netherlands figure comes from a 2020 FNV white paper; we found no newer public source (FNV white paper). In Italy, Corriere della Sera reported 25% in 2024 (Corriere della Sera). In Spain, secondary sources report 25%, but Uber has not confirmed it (TaxiGee, TodoVTC).
Germany is the exception. Uber publishes no commission percentage; it works through licensed fleet operators whose fees vary with revenue (Uber Germany). Your actual cut depends on your fleet deal.
Globally, Uber no longer states an official take rate, but mobility revenue divided by mobility gross bookings for Q2 2026 implies 25.4% (Uber Investor Relations). We derived this; Uber does not state it.
What 25% costs you in a year
Say you gross $30,000 a year. At 25%, Uber keeps $7,500. That is $625 a month, about $144 a week, before your other costs. In the Netherlands, at over 30%, the same $30,000 loses more than $9,000.
Commission is only the first cut. Vehicle costs, fuel and insurance are extra. The US 2026 standard mileage rate is 72.5 cents per mile for the first half of the year and 76 cents for the second (IRS, IRS bulletin). That approximates the full cost of driving for work. When drivers say they clear $15 to $18 an hour before costs, this is why.
Why drivers are looking elsewhere
Talk to drivers online and the same complaints keep coming back:
- Opaque upfront pricing. What the rider pays and what you receive are two separate numbers. Drivers regularly post screenshots of riders paying close to double the driver payout.
- Pay below minimum after costs. A common figure is $15 to $18 an hour before gas and depreciation. In some cities that is at or below minimum wage after vehicle costs.
- Deactivation anxiety. Drivers describe losing access overnight on a single unverified complaint, with scripted appeals and no human to talk to. A 2025 study of driver forums found arbitrary deactivation was the most common theme (FareShare study).
- No way to build repeat business. You drive the same regulars every week, but the rules make it risky to hand them your number. So every ride starts from zero again.
What 0% commission looks like
With DriverPage you get a free personal booking page. A client opens your link, books you directly and pays you directly, in cash or by bank transfer. DriverPage takes no commission on rides: not 25%, not 5%, zero. The free tier covers your page; the paid tier adds extras like a custom domain, never a slice of your fares.
If you want the platform-by-platform math, read our comparison of Uber, Bolt and private-driver pay. If you want the how-to, read how to turn Uber riders into private clients.
FAQ
Is it legal to take private clients in my country?
It depends where you drive. In the US, app drivers are usually locked to the app unless they hold a for-hire or livery licence. The Netherlands allows pre-booked rides at an agreed price with a chauffeurskaart and taxi permit. The UK allows a licensed private hire driver to get an operator licence. Italy allows pre-booked rides with NCC authorization. Germany requires a PBefG concession and the car must return to base. Spain caps new VTC licences at 1 per 30 taxi licences and requires at least 7 vehicles per company. Check your local licensing authority and see our FAQ.
Can Uber deactivate me for private rides?
Yes. Uber's Community Guidelines prohibit off-platform pickups and paying outside the app (Uber Community Guidelines). Breaking them can cost you access. Handing a card for a later booking is different from asking a rider to cancel and pay cash, but anything arranged during an app trip can fall under these rules.
What about insurance?
Platform insurance only covers app trips. Uber says coverage is limited to qualifying rideshare activity through its platform; your personal policy applies while offline (Uber insurance). A private ride is offline, and most personal policies exclude paying passengers. You need commercial or hire-and-reward cover for private clients. Check with your local authority or insurer.
How do I find private clients?
Start with the riders who already like riding with you. Our guide on turning Uber riders into private clients walks you through it step by step.
What is the easiest way to start?
Create your free DriverPage page and put your link where riders can see it. Next time someone asks "can I book you directly next time?", the answer is yes, not a shrug.